on fear…

“He who is brave is free.” Seneca

i am afraid. i am afraid of so very much. i get nervous just thinking about driving in the mountains or meeting new people. i want to not show up when i’m invited to a party and i may not know the others attending. i am afraid of the insane people who walk the streets of los angeles. i am hesitant to sit next to strangers in any capacity. but i am brave.

truth is, i love driving and venturing into new territories. i love meeting new people and hearing their stories. i love to dance and party it up with friends and strangers alike. i love the freedom of journeying through the city streets, smiling at passers by and making random conversation with fellow journeymen. i love the opportunity to catch a glimpse of a soul, whether it be in conversation or through observation. so i am brave.

since fear has set itself against me, against what i love and what i was made to do and enjoy, then fear is my enemy and bravery my feat. whether you are convinced of it or not, i do life afraid. i fight back fear like an arch rival, with me since childhood, determined to trip me up and paralyze me. i stare fear down like a worthy opponent that awaits me at every turn. i fight fear by the hour. my arsenal is doing what it says i cannot.

He says i am free. He said that He has set me free. then why would i live any differently. why would i allow fear to lord over me. why would i let fear keep me, assign me, tame me, name me, lame me?

you can call me brave. you can comment on my courage. but know that fear is with me on the regular. this journey i’m on didn’t come sweetly. these things i’ve seen didn’t come easily. i have sacrificed comfort for a battle. but i have exchanged torture for satisfaction. my portion is fear, and by His grace i’ve developed courage. for fear is my enemy, but bravery is my feat.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” Nelson Mandela

be encouraged.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (13)
  1. did you write this as a result of your recent announcement?

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      No. I wrote it because many people see me as courageous, but also fearless. I wanted them to know about my relationship with fear. I don’t feel special for being brave. I believe i’m in a constant battle with fear & my courage is a result of the understanding & belief that if I give fear an inch, it’ll take my whole life. That’s all, lol;)

  2. Great post! I really believe on some level everyone battles with this. Even though people have always seen me as extremely courageous know that I never meet a stranger and have told me they envy my outgoing personality, I definitely deal with fear and have to fight back against it. I fear instability, I fear my own selfish tendencies, I fear for my children’s future and I fear being alone. Stay brave, keep being brave, press on…..

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      Yes! Everyone has fear. Many people battle it, others perhaps let it do what it does best… Paralyze. Thank you for reading & for your encouragement to all of us to press on!

      • and, I just noticed I forgot to insert commas – us Tennesseans really can use correct pronunciation, I promise!

  3. LOVE how you shared your heart on here. It took courage. I know. Because I feel some of the very same things you have shared. I fight fear all. the. time. Thank you for sharing. LOVE you friend!!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      you have inspired me to share… i’ve witnessed your sharing and have watched it bring freedom to others. even the other night in nashville, your story and your openness encouraged me so very much,
      Love you too!

  4. oh i get this on so many levels. you speak a lot of truth here, friend.

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      thank you for reading it. anything but the truth is much too complicated… oh shoot. i’m gonna tweet that! love you:)

    • katrina hare
    • March 7th, 2012

    “fear is my enemy and bravery my feat.” I really like this. I’ve been looking for inspiration for a tattoo. I may just have to use this 😉
    Thanks for sharing.
    Btw- I was very sad for me when I heard that you are moving away but very excited for you and your new adventure 🙂

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      wait… i’ve been looking for something to tattoo on me!!! maybe i will have to steal it too:)
      I’m gonna miss you guys, but hey now you’ll have someone to visit in Nashville!

  5. Great post. Cheers to those of us who are both brave and fearful. I imagine that’s the way a lot of the early saints lived.

      • JuliaKate
      • March 30th, 2012

      And cheers to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

