uncharted…

As the plane took off, all I wanted was for the pilot to dim the lights so my tears could fall unnoticed. Staring at the city below, my chest tightened. I wasn’t sad to be leaving Nashville, I was sad because I knew I’d be leaving LA.

As the slideshow in my mind began, I saw my parents at Sunday brunch, my nephew talking non-stop of airplanes & wild animals, my niece sharing her deep thoughts on why the world works as it does, my brothers and sisters laughing and teasing each other… the tears fell. Then I thought of my friends that I love and cherish, and my Disneyland pass… Oh, how I’ll miss Disneyland. More tears. By the time the sky turned black, those tears had dried and I felt the tensed muscles release. I was finally able to catch my breath.

Now I could say it. It was okay to think it. Perhaps not yet share it, but it was time to feel it. I was moving to Nashville.

If Nashville were a man, he’d be my Bubba. He’s the man that was comfortable with his flaws & his strengths, both cuddly and studly, a trustworthy good ol’boy. The man that didn’t take it personal that it wasn’t love at first sight, but a gradual attraction. The man that opened the door, pulled out my chair, called me a lady, and invited me to relax and just be me. He was a calm man, no need to be pushy, or prove himself worthy. He smelled like home to me. He felt like home to me. He looked like home to me. He invited me to come, be at home with him.

I’ve been released into uncharted territory. I’ve been given the nod, the go ahead, the wink, and the wave of the hand. My God said “I’m with you.” I have no more ideas or plans. I’ve run out of strategies and assumptions. I’ve figured all that I can figure and instead of pushing for answers, I’ve decided to trust the unknown. This is new territory for me. It’s exciting and maddening at the same time.

The steps I’ll take to get to Nashville are obvious ones, not much strategy required. I’ll share the news with my family and friends, and ask them for insight and prayer. I’ll obtain a job, most likely as a nanny, thus becoming the Nashville Nanny;) I’ll begin the hunt for an apartment and decide how I’ll be lugging my stuff across the country. Then I’ll pack up and go. Makes sense. The rest, well, I have no idea. And I’m okay with that. Because God said He’s with me and Bubba said he’s leaving the porch light on.

*this post was written and edited while aboard a 737 BNA>LAX

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (37)
  1. If Nashville doesn’t treat you well…I’ll kick his ass!

  2. I don’t think Nashville has ever been described better & I don’t think I’ve ever been able to relate to you more. Praying that God makes every crooked place straight as you move. Also, praying for the grief that comes w/ giving up your Disneyland pass. That is indeed what I mourned most when leaving SoCal.
    Love & prayers!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      I’m glad you could relate, because I thought I sounded a little goofy. But I am goofy… And I compare my cities to men;) I hope one day you will join me!

    • jen jones
    • March 6th, 2012

    Love your intrepid trust. Super well written, probably like the songs you’ll write. So affirm your powerful obedience to God’s word to you. Way to go Julia. We’ll keep you in our prayers!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Wow! Thank you so much Jen for your support & for taking the time to read my news. Your prayers are much appreciated friend:)

    • Gypsy
    • March 6th, 2012

    Well said and true. Congrats!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thank you Gypsy!

    • Natalie
    • March 6th, 2012

    🙂 “I’ve figured all that I can figure and instead of pushing for answers, I’ve decided to trust the unknown.” So good on so many levels.

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      We’re gonna be in the same time zone!!!!! Love you;)

        • Natalie
        • March 6th, 2012

        My first thought was, welcome home to CST. Love you. :))

  3. “No one will be able to stand against you as long as you live. For I will be with you as I was with Moses. I will not fail you or abandon you. (Joshua 1:5 NLT)”

    🙂 He is with you friend. So excited for this new adventure… And while the unknown can be scary, it can often bring lots of surprises (look at what it did to me)…. I will miss our umami dates tho. But seeing you will be a GREAT reason to come visit Nashville once again.

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thank you for your support friend! Perhaps we can get Umami to open a restaurant in Nashville… Or Hawaii;)

  4. Holy Smokes!!!! This has made my day!!!! I am so excited and will do whatever I can to help – I mean that girl….

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thanks! And I mean it when I say- I will take you up on that:)

  5. i may be smiling.

    a lot. like, a lot a lot.

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Remember that when I need help moving my couches… I have really large couches;) By the way, I am so grateful for the role you’ve played thus far. Anxious to see God’s plan unfold!

  6. Just seeing this. I love it! I know it’s no easy step, but I’m proud of you for making it!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thanks Grant, that means a lot. I’ve got your number, so I’ll be sure to give you a call when I arrive… May need some help unloading my truck, lol!

  7. Hey I wish you well in your new life in Nashville, my friend did the same a while back his name is Todd Faris and he lives in Musfreeboro? spelling not correct. God will direct you I’m sure to the right place to take care of other’s children..You will know for sure, that you are meant to be there..you seem to be a great judge of character…We all still have facebook to watch your antics and laugh along side you so you’ll still be close….Take care and God bless you the “Nashville to be nanny”

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thanks Julie! I appreciate your support:)

    • Margie
    • March 6th, 2012

    You will be very missed! But wish you a great life inspiring adventure in the South! Love you my friend and keep in touch!! Your words has always moved me and can’t wait to see what God has in store for you!! Big hugs!!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thanks Margie! Your words mean a lot to me. Maybe I’ll see you in town before I take off:)

  8. congrats!!! excited for you!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 6th, 2012

      Thank you 😉

  9. WOW!!! I will say we didn’t see that one coming. I know I don’t see you often… but, I am sad….. My girls were sad at the news…..
    I am excited that you are listening to God (like I didn’t already know that!) and following HIM!!! You are an inspiration!
    We will think about you at the Hollywood Bowl!!!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 7th, 2012

      Ah Tassie!!!! I know:-/ I wanted to tell you guys in person, but have had such a chaotic few weeks. I will make sure to see you all before I go. Thinking summer time, FYI.

    • Syl
    • March 8th, 2012

    well paint my door red and call me Elizabeth Arden!…that’s a quote from Steel Magnolias. Welcome back to the South!!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 8th, 2012

      See… I love Steel Magnolias!!! I can’t wait to return to the South;)

  10. You go girl!

    • Ebony Jr
    • March 10th, 2012

    Good for you, Julia–and good for me too! You really blessed me. We must get in a couple more “bad lounge music” outings before you go so that I can tell you in detail how you’ve blessed me 🙂

    So exciting, the adventures that lie ahead. “Blessed shall you be in the city & blessed shall you be in the country.” Duet. 28:3

      • JuliaKate
      • March 10th, 2012

      Oh my word, that verse!!!! Love it. And most definitely we have to get the crew together again for some “bad lounge music”;) Thank you for your encouragement… You bring so many women, me included, hope & wisdom in love & sober expectations. Blessed to have you as a friend:)

    • Tracy
    • March 10th, 2012

    Wow – wonderfully written!! You have such a gift. I can’t imagine how much faith this is and will take – know you are in my prayers!

      • JuliaKate
      • March 10th, 2012

      Thanks so much for reading & for encouraging me. I have been to your city before on a family road trip when we lived in miami… Man oh man, i miss the south!

  11. Wow Julia…You inspire me. As the Lord leads, may you always always follow. If the moments come where you start to doubt, with whys and hows, i pray that you are gracefully reminded, and you trust. Give Bubba my regards!

Leave a Reply

