on silence, speech, and then relief.

“I thought, ‘Age should speak; advanced years should teach wisdom.’ But it is the spirit in a man, the breath of the Almighty, that gives him understanding.”

Elihu (Job 32:7-8)

if i come with a beautiful melody, you applaud. if i join your efforts and find the harmony, you count me as necessary. if i care for your younger ones, look after their souls, energize their spirits, and nourish their bodies, you appreciate me. if i help organize your thoughts, encourage your efforts, and clean up your messes, you consider me indispensable. but if i approach you with what He’s shown me, how we’ve gone astray, how we’ve wandered away, you have no use for me.

one of my favourite men mentioned in the bible is Elihu. we don’t hear enough about Elihu within the Church. in fact, sometimes i feel that he has been left out of sermons on purpose. it’s a shame. he was the youngest of the group of men mentioned in Job and he was silent for the first 31 chapters, just listening and waiting for his turn to speak. he did finally have his say and quite significantly, he was not rebuked by the Lord.

“Listen to me; I too will tell you what I know. I waited while you spoke, I listened to your reasoning; while you were searching for words, I gave you my full attention. But not one of you has proved Job wrong; none of you has answered his arguments.

the church has been avoiding the questions. turning their heads and continuing with their plans. they have shunned and silenced their prophets. we are building without architects, we are marching without clear direction. we are refusing to give up on our ideas and weightless arguments. we are divided and determined to do things our own way. and in doing so, we are neglecting our reason, our purpose, our intention. the church’s unauthorized mission has blinded her vision.

“Answer me then, if you can; prepare yourself and confront me. I am just like you before God; I too have been taken from clay. No fear of me should alarm you, nor should my hand be heavy upon you”

my love for the church runs deep. my heart for her beauty beats strong. the same blood that runs through her veins, runs through mine as well. but i cannot defend many of her practices or protect her broken policies. she has called her hunch holy and her system sacred, but she does so alone, without her partner, without her prophets, without her bridegroom’s approval. He is calling her to Him, wanting to assure her of His unending love, wanting to free her from her insecurities, waiting for her to lay down her desires and hear His heart again.

“I too will have my say; I too will tell what I know. For I am full of words, and the spirit within me compels me; inside I am like bottled-up wine, like new wineskins ready to burst. I must speak and find relief; I must open my lips and reply. I will show partiality to no one, nor will I flatter any man; for if I were skilled in flattery, my Maker would soon take me away.”

i could sing it in a song and you may not even notice. i could teach your young ones what is right without you even knowing it. i could edit your projects and censor your words with a pat on the back and a riddle or two, but i am free now to speak. i am able to write it out plain. we need each other. we need to reconsider everything we’ve attached ourselves to. we need to utilize every bit of revelation, every stated truth, every gift allocated. we need to Repent*.

[Excerpts from Job 32-33 Msg]

*Revelation 2:5

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (5)
  1. “my love for the church runs deep. my heart for her beauty beats strong. the same blood that runs through her veins, runs through mine as well. but i cannot defend many of her practices or protect her broken policies”

    i wonder if God looks at us the same way sometimes?

  2. Was thinking about the psychological perspective that causes the church to believe it’s actions are ordained by God, whether they are or are not. It seems to me that when leaders look comparatively at Christendom in the past hundred years, it is easy to feel as though most evangelical churches are doing well. Conversions are still high, attendance is still high and the overall Christian-Consumer Industry is still booming. What is this so-called problem so many are speaking up about?

    The church has convinced herself that as long as one person goes forward on Sunday, then it is seemingly all justified. It must be okay to spend millions on comfortable buildings and inspirational light shows (stain-glass windows included). It must be okay for the children and youth to get the short end of the stick, when it is the adults who are the ones paying the temple tax. I’m sure it’s fine for benevolence funding to be cut…those people should really just pray for God to bless them. I’m also sure everyone understands that we cannot allow the “Holy Spirit” to move without first giving us a two week heads up…it really throws the order of service off.

    I know this sounds silly and over-exaggerated. I know we would never actually hear these words come out of the mouth of evangelical leaders, however these same words seem a bit too close for comfort. I know many would still debate Charles Finney’s use of the Alter call in the service, but before that the gathering (church service) was mostly ecumenical. I think the shift towards utilizing the “church service” for evangelical purposes (which is not necessarily wrong) is what led to the show we see today. Not the haughty prideful show in Isaiah, but a unique form of advertising and enticement set up to lure un-believers to the “anxious bench” (the alter call). This ideal has provided a platform for the “whatever it takes” philosophy so prevalent in today’s evangelical services.

    Just my two cents…since we are speaking up today.

    • Paige Junaeus
    • October 20th, 2010

    It touches me to hear your voice speak freely…To just write it out plain!
    We are hearing you…feeling the hearts of young adults like you that have the courage to say what they see. It’s time to hear and time to change!!! Thank you Julie, keep writing…Your fan auntie Paige

  3. Thank you for your brave post my daughter. In a family we grow, and sometimes those things that a family, group or other cluster does becomes a unified force. We act very naturally in our partnering activity, thoughts and philosophy and may even secure ourselves with reinforcement of the practices we are most comfortable with. . Perhaps in your family, everybody mocked others, or made jokes about those in wheelchairs, or loved baseball or possibly football. But as we grow, we become individualized and are attracted to other sources of information and understanding. That is often when it happens. When the one who has embraced a new idea, way of thinking or decided to follow the prescribed path…they become foreigners to the family, group, clique or system! Suddenly, those who are together find it necessary to silence those still seeking. Why is baseball not good enough, or Basketball? Because you are attracted to golf – plain and simple. God placed in you the desire to swing a metal object, hit a ball and then lose the object to a small hole in the grass. If we are a secure family, we will consider the new practice, information, and understanding and even be willing to adjust, change or repent for being on a crooked path, if that be the case. We will consider this person “A Gift” rather than a burden, and celebrate, welcome and accept them. No mockery, no being made fun of – simply listening, discussing, proving, and yes sometimes provoking…until the end result is the truth in community while being saturated with love and forgiveness! When the Lord said in Galatians 5:1-2 – “Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma” he had a beautiful plan in mind. I believe he wanted us not to STINKETH!
    So…. Let’s not!

      • JuliaKate
      • October 26th, 2010

      brilliant. thank you for adding your sight to the post.
      much love;)

Leave a Reply

