33 years…

i am more comfortable with me than i ever thought i could be.

i am more content with my portion than i had ever dreamed.

this God i serve and am coming to know always makes room for my lingering.

His heart is my desire.  His smile is my delight.  His grace, a source of life for me.

33 years of friendship.  33 years of grace.  33 years of pursuance.

33 years of Your presence.

there wasn’t a day when i didn’t love You.  there wasn’t a moment when i didn’t feel Your love.

there wasn’t a day when i needed You to be more.  there wasn’t a moment when You made me feel not good enough.

each season challenged my frailty.  each year pushed me into Your arms.  each decade a triumph by grace.

i’m sitting here contemplating what i care about most.  i’m searching my heart to find the focus of my passion.

it is You.  it is that You be known.  it is that You be desired.  it is that You be received.  it is You.

You love me.  i am weak.  i am fearful.  i am loose lipped and critical.  i am a fighter.  i am stubborn.  You love me.

i love You.  Your word is my decree.  Your heart is my answer.  i love You.

33 years of patience.  33 years of anticipation.  33 years of development.

33 years of mercy.

there wasn’t a day that i didn’t need You.  there wasn’t a moment that i didn’t feel You near.

there wasn’t a day that i doubted Your truth.  there wasn’t a moment that i didn’t call You my God.

each season spoke more of Your ways.  each year revealed more of Your intentions.  each decade confirmed Your goodness.

i am more comfortable with me than i ever thought i could be.

i am more content with my portion than i had ever dreamed.

this God i serve and am coming to know always makes room for my lingering.

His heart is my desire.  His smile is my delight.  His grace, a source of life for me.

You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.

Psalm 139:15-16

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (21)
  1. truly beautiful…an ode to Your God. you are a beautiful daughter, a wonderful person, a caring woman and a deeply feeling soul. i love you. my love has always been rich, and in comparison to Him my resources have been exposed as poor. i am blessed that you found Him and He found you, making your resources now never ending. i am grateful for Him on behalf of my hope. He has not disappointed..has He! To our God be praise and of course to you, my sweet daughter…Happy Birthday!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      mom… thank you.

  2. Beautiful! Happy happy birthday!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      thanks Patricia. Go LAKERS!!!!! 😉

  3. Absolutely beautiful! Happy Birthday, my friend!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      thanks friend. it’s great to see your face on my blog:)

  4. 33 years of beauty.

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      ah shux;) you are the bestest eldest brother ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. such a beautiful reflection of your heart!

    happy birthday, julia kate!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      what a special birthday this was for me… and you were such a lovely part of it. Thank you for the messages and the well wishes friend;)

    • Liz
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Lovely. Thanks for sharing this with us. Happy Birthday!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      Liz…. I miss you! thank you for reading my thoughts;)

    • Steven Lopez
    • June 23rd, 2010

    “there wasn’t a day when i needed You to be more.”
    Once again, Good Stuff!! Happy Birthday Julia!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      steven… you may never know what an encouragement you are to me. thank you for being you.

    • Sara Martinez
    • June 23rd, 2010

    I am crying. your love and devotion to our God inspires me. your vision for the church provokes thought in me. your creativity causes me to be jealous. you are am incredible woman and I am happy to call you my friend. HAPPY BIRTHDAY JULIA KATE!!!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      i am blessed to call you friend. you are a huge part of the “all things working together for good” in my life. Love you!

  6. I love it! Happy Birthday! (Just found your blog through twitter/I think through Alece…I didn’t know your birthday was coming up or maybe I would have given you more than my 1200th and 1201th tweet 😉 ) Have a great day!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 23rd, 2010

      thank you for the birthday love and i’m so glad you found me on twitter. you are such an encouragement to so many bloggers.

      • Aww, you are so sweet! I didn’t know I was an “encouragement to so many bloggers”…that totally made my night 🙂 I’m glad you found me (or I found you…I think you found me…ha!) on twitter too! Happy birthday!!

          • JuliaKate
          • June 23rd, 2010

          i found you… you found the blog;) and you totally are an encouragement! 😉

      • Again, you are so sweet…I definitely don’t think I’ve done anything “special”, but sure do appreciate your kind words 🙂 Hope the day after your birthday was just as fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

