“Be aware and be afraid..be very afraid.”

I love having an open blog where visitors can peruse posts at will.  Sometimes through visitors, I am reunited with old posts that I had long forgot.  This is one of those posts.  Written while spending some time in a monastery in a little village near Bordeaux, France, I had much time to read, reflect, and hear from God.  I remember exactly what it felt like as God began to reveal new truths to me… enjoy;)

14 Aug 2006

Two things have continuously repeated themselves during my journey…Be aware and be afraid….be very afraid.  Hear me on this because I think I need to share it.  We make jokes about people who have their head in the clouds or some even refer to the “blonde” syndrome…a certain absent-mindedness that portrays itself as carelessness.  Have you ever had a conversation with someone and you think, they just aren’t present even though they are standing right in front of you?  Some people we think are too busy and some we would diagnose as too “slow”…all the same — the result is absence from the moment.  This life is made up of many many moments just like this paragraph is made of many many letters.  Each one essential and important to the preconceived plan.

God has been teaching me to be present, sober-minded at all times.  Resting only while I sleep and preoccupied only when in solitude.  “Be aware Julia.  Be very aware.”  I hear it all the time.  The Holy Spirit is a great listener and He offers courses on how to be a good listener to any disciple willing.  With awareness comes a whole new perspective on all that surrounds us.  Each person becomes a soul, each encounter becomes a possible “moment”, and each conversation becomes an opening for life-changing truth.

While I was at this commune last week I had some time to really sit and meditate on specific things that the Lord had been teaching me.  I heard this…”The greater the handicap, the greater the compassion required”.  I came to this understanding through a conversation that I had with a christian of many years that had trouble with not getting iritated by people’s shortcomings…bad drivers, slow clerks, knuckle-headed kids.  I began to explain to her:  “its like this, would you get mad at a blind man for stepping on your toe?  Would you yell at a crippled driver for taking the closer parking space?  Would you punish a deaf kid for not coming when you called him?…Yet we hold the lost to the same standard of the redeemed man.”  The redeemed man has benefits and a partner to do life with that strengthens, encourages and corrects.

I love to think of it like this.  I was blind and He brought me true sight.  I was deaf and He opened the core of me so that I may hear His voice.  I was lame and weak and He lifted me on His wings and now renews my strength daily.  So why do they reject His mercy?  Most people, I find, that have rejected Christ til now do so because they truly haven’t been properly introduced.  Here’s a decent example.  I had casually said hello and goodevening to a pastor out here on many occasions, but I didn’t really know him.  One weekend I stayed with some folks that work with him in a more intimate way.  They prewarned me, “Pastor is a bit shy.  So if you say hello and he doesn’t respond don’t take it personally.”  And then another one said “I never want to make him angry.  He can tend to get pretty irritated by the staff sometimes.”  Honestly they went on and on, but I rather not quote it all here.  It provoked these thoughts:  Everytime I say hello he responds, (and its a good thing too because I have a whole teaching on shyness and timidity….ok I won’t go there) but they didn’t know that I had met him before. And I also thought, thank God I am not a part of his church because the last thing I need is a hot-tempered pastor.  But then it provoked me to think about how we portray our God to others.  We portray Him as we know Him, but in truth most of us know Him through our current weakness.  I am all for introducing Him according to who He says He is even if He hasn’t revealed all of Himself to me yet.  Which brings me back to awareness…how are we at the introduction phase?

I suppose I have gotten longwinded and have been chasing my furry friends down all sorts of trails, but I would like to sum up my “be afraid…be very afraid” as this.  The wise man fears God.  And when you have the true fear of the Lord you have a beautiful security.  You would hesitate to speak anything but truth from fear that it may displease the Lord.  You would obey quickly because it is only His words that hold the true weight in your life.  And you would consider Him and be aware of His presence in all things and at all times.  Imagine living like that.  It may seem difficult, but I am finding that this is where the easy yoke and light burden have been mysteriously placed.

“Jesus began by establishing a radical minimum standard that would permeate the church long after his ascension to heaven.”

Erwin McManus [An Unstoppable Force]

NOTE:  I have been reading C.S. Lewis books for the last few weeks and feel at liberty to go on and on as he does.  I just reread this and saw the pattern.  Forgive me if you find me to sound like an authority on any of the above subjects.  Sincerely, it is the Truth that holds the authority and I remain a humble student excited to express lessons learned.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (8)
  1. “in truth most of us know Him through our current weakness.”. . an interesting thought. I’ll ponder that one.

    • This is so true. our perception of God is greatly dictated by our experiences we have had with Him. If we have been shown much grace…we see Him as a gracious God. If we have experienced His holiness…we see Him for that…and so on.

      It is powerful to see that those around me are not necessarily seeing God wrong, maybe just incomplete.

      • JuliaKate
      • June 2nd, 2010

      …i’m still pondering that and i wrote this post 4 years ago. thanks for visiting the blog:)

    • Steven Lopez
    • June 1st, 2010

    “I have a whole teaching on shyness and timidity….ok I won’t go there.” I’d sure like to read that! I’m sure a lesson on shyness from the Tither would be an eye opening one!

      • JuliaKate
      • June 2nd, 2010

      is that a challenge Steven? jk i’m feeling inspired… perhaps that very subject will appear in the near future:)

    • Brittanie
    • June 1st, 2010

    I’m new to your blog but in this short time you, my friend, have inspired me in more ways than I can explain.

    Thank you.

      • JuliaKate
      • June 2nd, 2010

      thank you for your encouraging words brittanie;)

Leave a Reply

