she sleeps…

oh how i wish you wouldn’t talk in your sleep.  the things you say are so absurd & revealing.

your snoring is keeping me awake.  apnea has set in and you have become restless.

you are both the beautiful bride and the beast.  what can be done to wake you?

i nudge you.  i bring you your favourite juice.  i open the window and throw back the curtains.

you rub your eyes, grunt and roll over.  my heart sinks and my mind races.

the more you sleep the more concerned i become.  i check to see that you are still breathing.

i know you are dreaming.  i know you are reminiscing.  i know you are hoping and wishing… possibly praying.

but what good is it, if you never wake up?

Isaiah 29:1-14

Keep Breathing

Written by Ingrid Michaelson

The storm is coming but I don’t mind
People are dying, I close my blinds

All that I know is I’m breathing now

I want to change the world
Instead I sleep
I want to believe in more than you and me

But all that I know is I’m breathing
All I can do is keep breathing
All we can do is keep breathing now

All that I know is I’m breathing
All I can do is keep breathing.
All we can do is keep breathing

All we can do is keep breathing
All we can do is keep breathing
All we can do is keep breathing
All we can do is keep breathing
All we can do is keep breathing now

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

